“Perhaps it is better to be irresponsible and right, than to be responsible and wrong.” -Winston Churchill 

Throughout our lives, each one of us develops, expands and outlines their personal moral philosophy. Depending on diverse factors such as age, level of education, social background, or culture, people adopt different personal philosophies.

As for mine, up until today, I have experienced a lot of different events, in both my private and social life. Personally, at this stage, I think that the journey towards my global moral philosophy is still ongoing, but as time passes, I am able to shape it with confidence following my own beliefs.

So far, I was able to gain knowledge on diverse rules of behaviour based on ideas about what is morally good and bad, but most of all, I learned how to make judgements for myself depending on the various situations I confronted myself with.

For me, the most important is to keep a positive mind set no matter what, as well as to treat people the way I would want to be treated. It is all about being respectful to each other. So if one asks me what is the right thing to do morally, I would answer without any doubt, treat everyone equally and with respect. At the end of the day, it is the simple things that matter the most; holding the door for someone, giving up your seat on the bus to those in need, saying thank you, being polite and generous. The more you believe in yourself, the more people will appreciate your traits.

Each one of us may have different views on this, but this is the way my parents and my surrounding environment have instructed me to be. Many of these moral decisions that I choose to make every day just come naturally.

I believe the world would be a better place if we could spread some more kindness, recognise the humanity of other people, and respect their dignity.

Leave a Reply

